Placing Students at the center of the educational experience

Office of the President

President’s Cabinet

The President's Cabinet consists of the senior executives of CSU Channel Islands. In practice, the Cabinet addresses strategic and operational issues affecting the University. It provides recommendations on University-wide policies and practices and advises the President on the development and implementation of University strategies and plans.

Richard R. Rush

Minnesota State University, Mankato, 1992-2001

Executive Vice President
California State University, San Marcos, 1989-1992

Brooke Carson
Executive Administrative Assistant

Gayle E. Hutchinson
Provost and Vice President for
Academic Affairs

Dean of the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences
California State University, Chico, 2007-2013

Chair, Department of Kinesiology
California State Universtiy, Chico, 2002-2007

Karen Gundelfinger
Executive Assistant

Ysabel Trinidad
Vice President for Business and Financial Affairs

Vice Chancellor, Finance and Administration
University of Washington Tacoma, 2006-2011

Associate Vice President, Admin./Planning and Business Affairs
University of Texas San Antonio, 1997-2006

Pamela Abbott-Mouchou
Organizational Effectiveness Officer

Wm. Gregory Sawyer
Vice President for Student Affairs

Founding Dean of Student Services
Florida Gulf Coast University, 1995-2001

Dean of Students
University of North Texas, 1990-1995

Dottie Ayer
Administrative Assistant to the Vice President

A. Michael Berman
Vice President for Technology
and Communication &
Chief Information Officer

Owner and Principal Consultant
AmbermanLTD LLC, 2009

Chief Technology Officer
Art Center College of Design, Pasadena, 2005-2008

Kristin Steiner
Administrative Assistant


Nichole Ipach
Vice President for University Advancement

Assistant Vice President for University Advancement
Cal State Channel Islands, 2010-2013

Director of University Development
Cal State Channel Islands, 2006-2010

Cathy Sanchez
Development Assistant


Genevieve Evans Taylor
Special Assistant to the President

Associated Students Inc. Executive Director
CSU Channel Islands, 2009-2014

Muenster University Center Director
The University of South Dakota, 2005-2009

Alanna Trejo
Support Coordinator